• Gold Buckle Gala Tickets

    Join us on December 4, 2017 at the South Point Hotel & Casino as we celebrate our 2017 Legend of ProRodeo Michael Gaughan. Michael was inducted into the ProRodeo Hall of Fame in 2007, played a pivotal role in bringing the National Finals Rodeo to Las Vegas in 1985, and has been a longtime supporter of professional rodeo. Tickets are now on sale and the deadline to rsvp is November 27. Click the read more button for more information.
    read more
    slider image
  • Support the PRHOF

    Since 1979, the ProRodeo Hall of Fame has been an educational and entertaining museum designed to preserve the legacy of the cowboy contests, the heritage and culture of those original competitions, and the champions of the past, present and future. Without the continue support of sponsors, members, and rodeo enthusiasts, the Hall wouldn't be able to continue it's legacy. Consider donating or becoming a member TODAY!
    read more
    slider image

These upcoming ProRodeo Hall of Fame events are all open to the public. Reservations are required for some events. To be added to our mailing list call 719-528-4732. Additional information about each event will be added as they become available.

September 1, 2017 – Museum switches to winter hours. We will be open Wednesday – Sunday from 9am-5pm.

October 26-29, 2017 – 2nd Annual Cowboy Experience Hosted by The Resort at Paws Up

November 23, 2017 – Museum will be closed for Thanksgiving

December 4, 2017 – 10th Annual Wrangler Gold Buckle Gala

December 15, 2017 – 31st Annual Spurs and Spikes Golf Tournament

December 24-25, 2017 – Museum will be closed for the Christmas holiday

December 31, 2017 – January 1, 2018 – Museum will be closed for the New Year holiday

January 30, 2018 – Nomination forms due to be considered for Class of 2018 induction

April 1, 2018 – Museum closed for Easter


home title

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – ProRodeo Hall of Famer Michael Gaughan, who was inducted as a rodeo notable in 2007, is the 2017 Legend of ProRodeo who will be honored at the 10th annual Wrangler Gold Buckle Gala on Dec. 4 at the South Point Grand Ballroom in Las Vegas.

“This is a very, very nice honor to receive,” said Gaughan, 74.

The Gala, which benefits the ProRodeo Hall of Fame, begins at 6 p.m. (PT).

Gaughan played a key role in bringing the National Finals Rodeo to Las Vegas in 1985 and in 1988, thanks to the late Benny Binion, also a ProRodeo Hall of Famer, he became involved with Las Vegas Events and the Wrangler NFR Committee.

“Michael has always been a big supporter of the PRCA and professional rodeo,” said PRCA Commissioner Karl Stressman. “Although we have had some tough negotiations throughout the years, Michael has always been a friend of our sport. He was a major factor in the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo moving to Las Vegas, and has provided us endless hospitality at the South Point over the years.”

Gaughan also is a long-time sponsor, first locally, and then nationally, of the NFR and the PRCA.

“I enjoy rodeo and cowboys,” said Gaughan, who has lived in Las Vegas since 1952. “I’ve only missed seven performances at the NFR since it has been in Las Vegas since 1985.”

In 2007, Gaughan became a national sponsor for the PRCA with his South Point Hotel and Casino. The South Point Hotel and Casino opened in December 2005, and was followed by the equestrian center in the spring of 2006.

The South Point also has hosted the PRCA National Convention since 2006. The South Point is also a sponsor/supporter of the ProRodeo Hall of Fame and its events and Gaughan is a member of the Board of Trustees of the Hall of Fame.

“The NFR has been great for the city, and the city has been great for the rodeo,” Gaughan said. “Having the NFR in Las Vegas has really changed the month of December in Las Vegas. December used to be a slow month here, and now December is always my best month every year. Hosting the PRCA National Convention is also very, very good for business. I went after the convention and people seem to like it here the best.”

Powered by WordPress | Designed by Elegant Themes